top of page
Search

The Artistic Journey

Artistic journeys all start practically the same. As small children we are all handed a piece of chalk, a marker, a small jar of non toxic Crayola paint. Everything is new, freeing, and interesting. You use you're newly discovered mitts to create beautiful messes, well your parents may not have thought so but I sure do. This stage I refer to as the Finger Painter Stage. It's a stage I have no memory from but have heard many stories from my family members, a privilege I am extremely thankful for.

The artistic journey consists of 4 more stages, 5 total, and they are as follows: Finger Painter, Sketcher, Drawer or Cabinet, Student , and Professional. The Finger Painter was as I said above, but a lil beb figuring out the world around them and exploding with creativity. This stage lasts well into early school, but mostly daycare, preschool, and kindergarten. Once you reach elementary school


Finger Painter

My mother speaks fondly of this age. She says she clearly remembers the day she first handed me a piece of chalk. She drew on my little chalkboard a "flower", something that I realize now actually had more semblance to a truffula tree from Dr. Suess' The Lorax, or a line with a swirl up top. She handed me the chalk in my right hand which I promptly moved to my left and began creating my own truffula tree forest. Although mine, and most people will have this in toddler age, a lot of artists will relive this experience every time they try new mediums or find something new they love to create. A free flowing sprout of creativity where once again everything is new and exciting.

Fortunately, this is not just something experienced as a child. Every time you pick up a new medium or try a new style, you may once again enter into finger painter. Being non constricted by the shackles of judgement to your work because you are simply trying something new.


Sketcher

The sketcher phase is for many in elementary school. This is the stage where people are now looking at your work. I do not mean simply with their eyes but now with judgment. People are now deciding for you whether your art is good or bad. You may even start judging your own work and trying to improve but without any guidance.

This also happens for when discovering a new medium or style. After those initial butterflies wear off you realize all the imperfections and work you still have left to do, to get to a place where you are satisfied.


Drawer or Cabinet

The grand choice of around Middle School age where we decided whether or not we will keep up this art things and become a drawer or give up on it and become a cabinet. This is a direct outcome of how we are treated in our sketcher phase.

Although in Middle School they stop requiring art I think this is one of the biggest mistakes. I will be writing and recording on that topic soon. If you are one of the people who stumbled into being a cabinet and would like to become a drawer again, it is never too late. Click on the button to quire access to a worksheet that will give you crucial tips on restarting your journey into art.



Student

Student is pretty self explanatory but this can be in a school setting or at home with courses and YouTube.


Professional

Professional the label can be very misleading. Many assume I am simply referring to artists who are able to make a full time living through their art but that cannot be further from the truth. You are a legitimate artist once you have honed your craft and are at a spot where you enjoy what you create. The fun thing about the last two stages is you will forever live as an artist going back and forth between them.

Now having explored the 5 stages and how I am currently transitioning into stage 5, the stages going from Finger Painter to Sketcher to Drawer or Cabinet to Student to Professional. Come back on Wednesday 02/02/22 to read about my personal journey through the 5 steps.

20 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page